December 1, 2023


Like All Trades

Matildas dealt 'worst possible' draw ahead of next year's tournament

Matildas dealt ‘worst possible’ draw ahead of next year’s tournament

The Matildas have been dealt a nightmare attract for subsequent year’s FIFA Women’s Earth Cup immediately after the groups had been formally made the decision on Saturday.

Australia will be joined in Group B by Canada, Eire and Nigeria, when reigning World Cup champions Usa drew the Netherlands in its group.

“Naturally, the groups are tricky,” Matildas vice-captain Steph Catley told Optus Sport of the draw.

Browse A lot more: Legend scoffs at ‘fools’ amid $3.2m escapade

Read Far more: Tennis champ suspended soon after failed drug exam

Go through More: Two-time champs ousted in World Cup boilover

“Ireland’s tricky. Canada’s genuinely tricky. Nigeria has some unbelievable players also, and African groups are genuinely tough to engage in at main tournaments. It really is a difficult group, but if you want to acquire, you’ve got obtained to beat every person.”

4-time winner the United States was drawn in Team E with Vietnam, the Netherlands and a playoff winner nevertheless to be determined in a match expanded for the 1st time to 32 teams drawn into eight groups of 4.

The US will play all of its team matches in New Zealand in the match to be played at 10 stadiums in Australia and New Zealand in July and August 2023. The match from the Netherlands will be at Wellington on July 27. The US defeat the Dutch 2- in the 2019 last in France.

Next-rated Sweden is drawn in Team G with South Africa, Italy and Argentina. 3rd-rated Germany is in Group H with Morocco, Colombia and South Korea and European winner England in Group D with Denmark, China and a playoff winner.

The a few playoff winners will be identified as a result of inter-continental qualifying matches in Auckland in February.

Verified 2023 WOMEN’S Globe CUP GROUPS

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.

Group B: Australia, Eire, Nigeria, Canada.

Team C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan.

Team D: England, Team B playoff winner, Denmark, China.

Group E: United States, Vietnam, the Netherlands, Group A playoff winner.

Team F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Group C playoff winner.

Team G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina.

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, South Korea.

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking information and distinctive content from Wide Globe of Sporting activities, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking right here