October 5, 2023


Like All Trades

Guide to First Round Draw – Sport Grill

Guide to First Round Draw – Sport Grill

Following completion of Qualifying rounds, here is a guide to the First Round draw of 2022-23 FA Cup.

After two months of six qualifying rounds – of which two rounds were preliminary stages – several Non-League teams have secured a spot in the opening round proper of this season’s FA Cup, where they will aim to cause cupsets in chase of a shock FA Cup title.

All 48 clubs across League One and League Two meanwhile will enter the competition at this stage, including Stockport County and Derby County amongst various EFL clubs involved in this stage of the tournament.

Now, here is a full guide to everything that you need to know ahead of the First Round draw in 2022-23 FA Cup.


When is the First Round Draw?

The draw for the First Round of this season’s FA Cup will take place on Monday 17 October 2022, with coverage live on BBC Two from 7pm GMT, with the draw commencing at approximately 7:15pm.


How Many Teams Are In The Draw?

Although there will be 40 ties drawn, 87 teams will be involved in the draw due to seven Fourth Qualifying Round ties needing to be replayed.

All 48 clubs across League One and League Two will be involved in the draw for the first time this season, as they enter the competition at this First Round stage as is tradition for teams in third and fourth tiers of the national football pyramid.

Ball Number Team
1 Accrington Stanley
2 AFC Wimbledon
3 Barnsley
4 Barrow
5 Bolton Wanderers
6 Bradford City
7 Bristol Rovers
8 Burton Albion
9 Cambridge United
10 Carlisle United
11 Charlton Athletic
12 Cheltenham Town
13 Colchester United
14 Crawley Town
15 Crewe Alexandra
16 Derby County
17 Doncaster Rovers
18 Exeter City
19 Fleetwood Town
20 Forest Green Rovers
21 Gillingham
22 Grimsby Town
23 Harrogate Town
24 Hartlepool United
25 Ipswich Town
26 Leyton Orient
27 Lincoln City
28 Mansfield Town
29 MK Dons
30 Morecambe
31 Newport County
32 Northampton Town
33 Oxford United
34 Peterborough United
35 Plymouth Argyle
36 Port Vale
37 Portsmouth
38 Rochdale
39 Salford City
40 Sheffield Wednesday
41 Shrewsbury Town
42 Stevenage
43 Stockport County
44 Sutton United
45 Swindon Town
46 Tranmere Rovers
47 Walsall
48 Wycombe Wanderers
49 Oldham/Chester
50 Kidderminster Harriers/AFC Fylde
51 King’s Lynn Town
52 York City
53 South Shields
54 Solihull Moors
55 Curzon Ashton
56 Blyth Spartans/Wrexham
57 Altrincham/Gateshead
58 Chesterfield
59 Alvechurch
60 Buxton
61 Coalville Town
62 Halifax Town
63 Hereford
64 Torquay United/Hampton & Richmond Borough
65 Yeovil Town/Taunton Town
66 Maidenhead United
67 Eastleigh
68 Ebbsfleet United
69 Woking
70 Dagenham & Redbridge
71 Hendon/Chippenham Town
72 Weymouth
73 Oxford City
74 Bracknell Town
75 Boreham Wood
76 Barnet
77 Needham Market
78 Chelmsford City
79 Merthyr Town
80 Farnborough


Teams to Watch Out For

There will be several teams to watch out for across the draw, including Derby County who feature at this stage of the competition for the first time since 1985-86 season, with the Rams seeded as ball number 16 in the draw.

National League’s Boreham Wood who reached the Fifth Round last season but lost away at Everton will be seeded as ball number 75 in the pot.

Seventh-tier Needham Market FC have reached the First Round for the very first time in their history and will be placed as ball number 77 in the draw.

Bracknell Town, Coalville Town and South Shields have all reached this stage for only the second time in their history, with both teams seeded as ball numbers 74, 61 and 53 respectively.

Hendon – playing in seventh tier – are the lowest-ranked team amongst those involved in the replays following a 2-2 draw against Chippenham Town, and have been handed ball number 71.


When Will First Round Ties Be Played?

First Round ties will be played across the weekend of 4-7 November 2022 with winning teams awarded £41,000 plus a place in the Second Round.

Should replays be required, ties will be replayed across midweek of 15-16 November 2022.